7 Quick Takes…

Lately, with being unemployed (yes, still!) and all, I have been able to catch up on the blogs I read.  One of them is Conversion Diary, which is a lot of fun to read especially as a Catholic convert myself.

Anyway, Jennifer does something on Fridays called “7 Quick Takes” which I have always enjoyed reading, and today decided to join in on!  Here goes…

1. Again, love that I have had time to catch up on my Internet addictions.  What with being on the honeymoon, and moving, and my sister visiting, and getting used to being married (What? I can’t spend all my free time on my laptop while watching NCIS, now that I am married?  No one told me that!?)– I haven’t had much time.  One blog that I have been enjoying now that I am an official military spouse is Spouse Buzz.  I doubt it’s that interesting if you are not military affiliated, but I am soaking it all up.

2. One more cool internet thing and then I will change topics, I promise.  Being away from my RSS reader for 2 weeks showed me that there are only a few things on there that are really *that* interesting to me. One of them being Wil Wheaton’s Twitter account.  Yes, to the outside eye I may seem mildly obsessed, seeing as how his blog is linked in my sidebar, and I just posted a link to something he posted on his blog, and now I am talking about his Twittering– but let’s face it, the man is funny.  And he was Wesley Crusher once upon a time, and once upon that same time I was a huge Trekkie so…don’t judge me.

3. For anyone who is still reading…hubby woke me up at 7:30 to PT with him (Physical Training for those of you non-military).  We rode our bikes at the park and it was awesome.

4. I miss Oakley Princess.  Oakley Princess is a dog.  My sister’s dog, and they were both visiting this week.  I would post a pic, but I am on hubby’s computer and pics of Oakley are on my laptop.  So you will all have to wait in suspense to see her…now I want my own dog! I know better than to ask to borrow Oakley.  (Oh, and I miss my sister too.  Hi sis!)

5. I hate geese.  Is hate too strong a word?  I don’t think so. Our apartment is near the pond, and the geese are rampant.  You can’t even walk around the pond because it’s impossible to dance through the goose poop.  ARGH.

6. So far the hardest thing about being married is remembering to say “ours” instead of “mine.”  That seems selfish when I read it, but hey, I have been saying “mine” for 31 years so I think a few weeks of transition are allowed in this case.

7. Today, I have been married for 3 weeks!  So far, it’s been heavenly, and I expect that to continue.  I love my husband and I love being married to him.  🙂

4 responses to “7 Quick Takes…

  1. Aunt Erika – I have broken into my mom’s laptop because i have missed you too! I wish my mom would have stayed longer so i could have spent more time with you and Uncle Chris. I disagree however about the geese. They are awesome and i love to chase them, bark at them, and rub my brand new COACH collar in their pooh….love Oakley Princess

  2. E! I miss you already! I just wrote you a very long comment, but it didn’t take the first time. Anyhoo, at the party on Sat. at one point, I leaned over to Jamie and said, “Erika would love this right now!” I think were were talking about Lord of the RIngs, Harry Potter, and some science fiction space movie (I hadn’t heard of it). You were missed! I am glad you are having such a great time in VA!

  3. I love geese! But not geese poop so I guess I will allow you to express your strong dislike for them . . . Although I am quite surprised to hear this coming from a science buff like yourself. And of course you are allowed some leeway with the “ours” thing seeing as how much of that stuff is probably really “yours” anyway ; )

  4. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday (vol. 43) : Conversion Diary

Leave a Reply

