7 Quick Takes Friday- February 19

I really don’t know what I would do if I hadn’t discovered this blog meme (I think that’s the right term?), because otherwise I would never remember to update my own blog.  Please don’t prove me wrong by looking to see when my last 7QT was, though.  🙂  As always, this brought to you by/the brainchild of Jennifer at Conversion Diary.

1 – I was sad that I moved away from my home state in the Mid-Atlantic last year, even though I only moved a day’s drive into the upper South.  Mostly sad because I would miss the snow (and of course my family and friends).  Well, I didn’t have to worry because this year, my new home got record amounts of snow (10″ in one storm, PLUS snow for TWO weekends in a row!).  Not to mention, I had the good fortune to miss the “Snowpacolypse” that my old home was subjected to.  Best of both worlds!

2 – That being said, I am ready for spring. Perhaps because I know as soon as spring gets here, my baby will too (or should!) since I am due at the end of April.  My husband and I are REALLY excited and all we can talk about is baby stuff.  I hear that will get old eventually, but right now it’s so fun.

3 – Speaking of baby things, since I am mostly at home these days because my part-time work has been in a slow mode, I spend a lot of time online checking out information, etc. Now, being a former scientist and teacher, I tend to take almost everything I read online with a large grain of salt, but I thought I would share a couple websites I have found useful.  First, as far as the sites that send you weekly updates about your baby’s development in which they compare your unborn child to a fruit or vegetable (it’s cute until they get to “kumquat” and “rutabaga”, then you know it’s gone too far)- I like BabyCenter and Parents.

4 – I am also a voracious reader, and have read 3 pregnancy books cover-to-cover so far, as well as numerous others.  My favorite pregnancy book is You: Having a Baby by Dr. Oz.  It’s the newest and most scientific one I could find, and has a great sense of humor.  I also liked What to Expect When You’re Expecting, though the format is kind of random and not for everyone.  The other one that I just found “OK” is Your Pregnancy Week by Week.  It’s a little dry, and the information is divided up into weeks (duh) which means that you only get little bits at a time.  I like more information at once, so this wasn’t my favorite.

5 – Hubby and I have gotten a few new toys recently.  Carseat and stroller for the baby.  We ended up with this one, by the way.  A long, drawn-out decision because the travel system I originally registered for (recommended by Consumer Reports, my new best friend these days) looks like it’s being phased out and is nearly impossible to find.  Plus, I have done some reading recently suggesting that children do better when they are facing their parents in the stroller- they get more interaction, obviously.  So we decided to give it a shot, even though it’s so new it doesn’t have many reviews.

We also got a new digital camera, after much research.  We ended up with this one.  It’s really cool- I like the photo quality and that it’s got an animation on the front screen that supposedly makes it easier to get photos of babies actually looking *at* the camera.  That remains to be seen, in our case.  Hubby likes the touch screen, and we both like the LCD on the front that makes it really easy to take self-portraits since we are the type of people too shy to ask someone to take our picture.

6 – BIRDS!  Everywhere!  I don’t know if it’s the state where live, or the specific neighborhood, but we have WAY too many birds.  I know some of it is due to our pond, and I have complained about the ducks and geese before.  Of course, it doesn’t help that my new neighbor feeds the ducks, or that *my own husband* nearly caused a waterfowl riot when he fed an entire glazed donut to one duck, who was then set upon by a large number of other ducks and gulls, and who was too small to carry off the donut in the first place, poor thing.  (The environmental police are showing up any minute to revoke my environmental-science-teacher/aquarium-volunteer/recycler/caring-about-the-environment-in-general card, I am sure.)

Anyway, the point is, we also have mourning doves, pigeons, and crows- typical for the suburbs, I think.  As I was typing this entry, a gang of 3 pigeons landed on the railing to my deck, strutting around like they owned the place.  And then inspected my deck for the next 10 minutes.  Why?  There’s no food.  Can they see me in here?  I’m not eating or anything.  Just typing.  WHAT DO THEY WANT??  (I did try to take a pic with the fancy new camera, but they did not cooperate.)

7 – Lent has begun, and I am really excited.  Which seems odd, since Lent is the season of sacrifice and all that.  But it’s also a good period for reflection and rejuvenation, and at the end of it, our baby’s arrival will be imminent!  So I am definitely looking forward to it this year.  Check out this happy/cheesy song about the season that I found on Faith and Family Live.

Leave a Reply

